New Practices São Paulo – press release, debate, pictures etc. – Vazio S/A

Last year, the New Practices Committee of the AIA New York Chapter recognized seven promising and pioneering new architecture and design firms working in New York – the New Practices New York 2010 winners. This year, AIANY and the Center for Architecture are thrilled to send an exhibition of these firms to São Paulo, and welcome in return an exhibition of São Paulo’s winning new practices.

New York’s 2010 winners will be on view at the São Paulo International Architecture Biennial in OCA Pavilion in Ibirapuera Park from November 1 – December 4, 2011 and the young Brazilian firms are, at this moment, featured in an exhibition at the Center for Architecture, 536 LaGuardia Place, in New York City. The exhibition will remain on view at the Center for Architecture until September 10, 2011.

“I am very excited to host this international exchange,” explained AIANY President Margaret Castillo, AIA, LEED AP. “Given Brazil’s economic development, population growth, and hosting of the World Cup and the 2016 Olympics, more is being built in Brazilian cities than almost anywhere else on the globe. I’m certain that we’ll be able to learn much about forward-thinking design and practice models from these young firms.”

New Practices Sao Paulo 2011 – Winners

In Brazil, the Sao Paulo Department of the Instituto de Arquitetos do Brasil (BIA) administered the competition. As in New York, the Brazilian call and jury emphasized a multidisciplinary approach to architectural practice. 21 practices entered, and the selected ones are:


Metro Arquitetos,



Vazio S/A,

23 Graus Sul, e

Yuri Vital.

The exhibition includes a newspaper, videos, models, panels and a debate moderated by Toshiko Mori (15 July 2011).

The winners were chosen by a jury including Carlos Motta, Isay Winfeld, João Whitaker, José Armênio Cruz, Nádia Somekh, Ricardo Ohtake and Roberto Loeb.

That was the third version of the New Practices award out of New York – the other two invited cities are NP London (2007) and NP San Francisco (2009).

New Practices São Paulo:

New York: 14 July- 10 September 2011

Center for Architecture, 536 La Guardia Place, Soho, New York

Exhibition Design: Easton + Combs.

New Practices New York 2010 – Winners

To qualify for the competition, practices had to be founded since 2004, and be located within the five boroughs of New York City. This is the first year that the New Practices competition has been open to firms without a registered architect, widening the field of entrants to designers, architectural designers and young professionals in the process of becoming licensed architects. Sixty-five registrants entered, and a distinguished panel of jurors selected the competition’s winners on Wednesday, May 12, 2010. The jury members were: Toshiko Mori, FAIA, Lead Juror, Toshiko Mori Architect; Joe MacDonald, Assoc. AIA, Urban A&O; William Menking, The Architect’s Newspaper; Guy Nordenson, Guy Nordenson and Associates; and Galia Solomonoff, AIA, Solomonoff Architecture Studio. The selected practices are:

Easton + Combs;


Leong, Leong;



SO-IL; and


New Practices New York

Sao Paulo: 1 November – 4 December 2011

Oca Pavilion, Parque do Ibirapuera, Sao Paulo, 9th Sao Paulo Architecture Biennale

Exhibition Design: Levenbetts.

More info at

Press contact in New York: Nicole Friedman,

Press contact in Sao Paulo: Tatiana Borsarini,

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *